Flat rate shipping of $9.95 Australia wide and free postage for orders over $100

Are lollies and candy vegan?

Are lollies vegan?

It may be surprising to learn when you go vegan that many lollies are not actually vegan.  There are a number of non vegan ingredients that can be found in packets of lollies with the 3 main being Gelatine, dairy and carmine.

Gelatine

Gelatine is a protein obtained by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of cows or pigs with water. Gelatine is used in the food industry as a binder and thickener and is widely used in sweets because it foams, gels, or solidifies into a piece that dissolves slowly in the mouth. A vegan alternative to Gelatine is Agar Agar.  It is a gelatinous substance derived from red algae.

Carmine

The red colouring often used to colour sweets red is called Carmine. Carmine isn't vegan as it is made up of crushed bugs called cochineal.  The bugs are native to Latin America and are farmed in Peru.  Millions of the bugs are killed each year to produce the colouring. There are natural vegan alternatives to Carmine such as Lycopene, a natural, tomato-based extract.

Dairy

Milk powder is often used in caramel or cream flavoured lollies such as hard caramel candy or soft chewy milk bottles.  Coconut cream is a vegan alternative that can be used instead of milk.

Vegan Lollies

Here at Five Vegans we have a wide range of vegan lollies including soft chewy lollies, jelly beans, milk bottles and licorice.  We have checked to ensure that none of the lollies have any animal derived ingredients and taste just as good as the sweets you remember from your childhood.

Where to find the best and most ethical vegan, cruelty-free and eco-friendly products

At Five Vegans we take care to ensure that all of our products are 100% vegan, cruelty-free and as sustainable as possible. We are 100% vegan owned and operated. At Five Vegans we believe a vegan world is possible and we will do our best to make this dream a reality.

Leave a comment

Name .
.
Message .

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published